Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) Holidays 2016 Schedule

BSE Trading Hours

Regular hours for the Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) are Monday through Friday with an opening time of 9:15 a.m. and a closing time of 3:30 p.m. local time (9 hours and 30 minutes ahead of New York).

BSE Holidays Schedule

The Bombay Stock Exchange equities and equity derivatives segment will be closed to observe a number of holidays throughout the year. Below you will find the BSE holiday calendar for 2016.

BSE Holidays 2016 Date Day
Republic Day January 26 Tuesday
Mahashivratri March 7 Monday
Holi March 24 Thursday
Good Friday March 25 Friday
Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti April 14 Thursday
Ram Navami April 15 Friday
Mahavir Jayanti April 19 Tuesday
Id-Ul_Fitr (Ramzan Id) July 6 Wednesday
Independence Day August 15 Monday
Ganesh Chaturthi September 5 Monday
Bakri Id September 13 Tuesday
Dussehra October 11 Tuesday
Muharram October 12 Wednesday
Diwali Balipratipada October 31 Monday
Gurunanak Jayanti November 31 Monday

Note that Muhurat Trading shall be held on Sunday, October 30, 2016 (Diwali – Laxmi Pujan). Timings of Muhurat Trading shall be notified subsequently.

Bombay Stock Exchange: Market Sessions

Market sessions of the equities segment are:

A) Pre-Market Session

Order entry period: 9:00 a.m. to 9:07/9:08 a.m.

Order matching & confirmation period: 9:08 a.m. to 9:12 a.m.

Buffer period: 9:12 a.m. to 9:15 a.m.

All orders are accumulated and matched at a single market opening price at the end of the session.

B) Regular Trading Session

Opening time: 9:15 a.m.

Closing time: 3:30 p.m.

Trades occur continuously as orders match on price/time priority.

C) Closing Session

Runs from 3:30 p.m. to 3:40 p.m.; VWAP closing price calculation.

D) Post-Closing Session

Runs from 3:40 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.; execution of trades at the closing price determined.

In Addition…

Based in Mumbai, India, the Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) is one of the oldest and largest stock exchanges in Asia. Locals also refer to the exchange as “Dalal Street,” which translates to “Brokers Street” in English. 

Also Read: National Stock Exchange (NSE) Holidays 2016 Schedule