National Stock Exchange (NSE) 2017 Holiday Schedule, Stock Market Holidays

NSE HolidaysNational Stock Exchange

Headquartered in Mumbai, the National Stock Exchange (NSE) is one of India’s leading stock exchanges. It is fully automated and offers transparent trading, clearing, and settlement services. The NSE offers various products, including equities, indices, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds (ETFs).

NSE Trading Hours

Regular hours for India’s National Stock Exchange (NSE) extend from an opening time of 9:15 a.m. to a closing time of 3:30 p.m. local time (11:45 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. EST, or 10:45 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST), Monday through Friday.

Equities Segment Market Timings

Except weekends (Saturdays and Sundays) and the exchange’s pre-declared holidays, equities segment trading takes place on all days of the week.

Trading hours are subject to reduction, extension, or advancement if deemed necessary by the exchange. The market could, however, be opened on pre-declared holidays or closed on days besides the below-mentioned scheduled holidays.

Pre-Open Session

  • Order entry and modification: opens at 9:00 a.m. and closes at 09:08 a.m. (plus last one minute for random closure).
  • Pre-open order matching commences immediately following the closure of pre-open order entry.

Regular Trading Session

  • Normal/Retail Debt/Limited Physical Market: opens at 9:15 a.m. and closes at 3:30 p.m.
  • For the block deal session, the time slot is 9:15 a.m. to 9:50 a.m.

Closing Session

  • Time slot: 3:40 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

NSE 2017 Holiday Calendar

The National Stock Exchange will be closed for trading to observe a number of holidays throughout the calendar year. Below you will find the NSE holidays schedule for 2017.

A different circular will be supplied beforehand if the exchange changes/alters any of the below-listed holidays.

NSE Holidays 2017 Date Day
Republic Day January 26 Thursday
Municipal Corporation Elections February 21 Tuesday
Mahashivratri February 24 Friday
Holi March 13 Monday
Gudi Padwa March 24 Tuesday
Ram Navami April 4 Tuesday
Good Friday & Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti April 14 Friday
Maharashtra Day May 1 Monday
Buddha Pournima May 10 Wednesday
Id-Ul_Fitr (Ramzan Id) June 26 Monday
Independence Day August 15 Tuesday
Parsi New Year August 17 Thursday
Ganesh Chaturthi August 25 Friday
Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti October 2 Monday
Diwali* Laxmi Pujan October 19 Thursday
Diwali Balipratipada October 20 Friday
Id-e-Milad December 1 Friday
Christmas December 25 Monday

*Note: Muhurat Trading will be conducted on October 19, 2017. Timings of Muhurat Trading shall be notified subsequently.

Also Read:

Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) 2017 Holiday Schedule