Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) 2017 Holidays Schedule, Stock Market Holidays

Bombay Stock Exchange holidaysBombay Stock Exchange 

Based in Mumbai, India, the Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) is one of the oldest and largest stock exchanges in Asia. Locals also refer to the exchange as “Dalal Street,” which translates to “Brokers Street” in English.

BSE Trading Hours

Regular hours for the Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) are Monday through Friday, with an opening time of 9:15 a.m. and a closing time of 3:30 p.m. local time (none hours and 30 minutes ahead of New York City).

Market sessions of the equities segment are:

1. Pre-Market Session

  • Order entry period: 9:00 a.m. to 9:07/9:08 a.m.
  • Order matching and confirmation period: 9:08 a.m. to 9:12 a.m.
  • Buffer period: 9:12 a.m. to 9:15 a.m.

All orders are accumulated and matched at a single market opening price at the end of the session.

2. Regular Trading Session

  • Opening time: 9:15 a.m.
  • Closing time: 3:30 p.m.

Trades occur continuously as orders match on price/time priority.

3. Closing Session

Runs from 3:30 p.m. to 3:40 p.m.; VWAP closing price calculation.

4. Post-Closing Session

Runs from 3:40 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.; execution of trades at the closing price determined.

BSE Holidays Schedule

The Bombay Stock Exchange equities and equity derivatives segment will be closed to observe a number of holidays throughout the year. Here is the BSE holiday calendar for 2017.

BSE Holidays 2017DateDay
Republic DayJanuary 26Thursday
MahashivratriFebruary 24Friday
HoliMarch 13Monday
Ram NavamiApril 4Tuesday
Good Friday & Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar JayantiApril 14Friday
Maharashtra DayMay 1Monday
Id-Ul_Fitr (Ramzan Id) June 26Monday
Independence Day August 15 Tuesday
Ganesh Chaturthi August 25 Friday
Mahatma Gandhi JayantiOctober 2Monday
Diwali* Laxmi PujanOctober 19Thursday
Diwali BalipratipadaOctober 20Friday
ChristmasDecember 25Monday

*Note that Muhurat Trading shall be held on Thursday, October 19, 2017 (Diwali – Laxmi Pujan). Timings of Muhurat Trading shall be notified subsequently.

Also Read:

National Stock Exchange (NSE) 2017 Holidays Schedule